Tarot Card for the Day ~ December 3

 

Ten of Swords

Camlann 

Sigh. 

Why do I keep pulling cards that make me say, Oy!  [By the way, did you know that Oy! spelled backwards is Yo!  Work with THAT during the holiday season!]

Last saw this card toward the end of October. And it tends to be a toughie in pretty much any deck, for pretty much any reader.  So of course I have my own divergent take on it.  It can be pretty groovy, in its own way.

Camlann, the image within this card, is the place and thus name of the final battle fought by Arthur and his knights.  It’s the battle at which Arthur took his fatal wounds − or rather, the wounds that caused him to be spirited away to Avalon. 

In any case, it’s the battle that saw the demise of the Round Table, the end of the Pendragon kings and the fall of Camelot.

Most readers see the Ten of Swords as a card of sadness, pain, affliction and desolation.  [And a Happy Thursday, guys!]

Even Anna-Marie Ferguson, writing of her Legend deck, sees it as betokening troubles, conflict, a showdown, or perhaps the climax and end of a chapter.

When this card turns up for a client, I begin by reminding them of what tens mean to me:

Tens in any Tarot deck betoken the end of one cycle and the beginning of another, or even the end of one way of life and the beginning of another.  So, if I were reading for you today and this card came up, I’d ask:

How do the things you have been experiencing – and more importantly, how do the things you have begun to long for in life just now – represent a strong message to you that you must allow yourself to

acknowledge the end of a cycle

and own the great potential for you to

move into something wonderful and powerful and new? 

How can you keep that in front of you not only today, but for some time to come?

Then I’d say:

Beyond that general information about cycles, I believe the Ten of Swords says in no uncertain terms,

You!  You!  You!  Yes.  You. 

“At this moment, I require of you some courage and faith.

“It is time to allow the old world − the world as you know it, your typical, day to day world− to die, in order that a beautiful new world may be born from it.” 

Yeah, it requires some courage, all right. 

But remember the promise: “a beautiful new world.”  This is in fact a hopeful card.

In following up with clients for whom this card is prominent in a reading, my sense has become that the changes they will need to make usually begin with a kind of ego death: a realization that the direction they have been firmly, even fanatically committed to really no longer serves them. 

That doesn’t mean they are required to throw everything up in the air and rush off in a direction wholly opposite to that which they have known, or in no intelligible direction at all. 

It does mean that they must begin by asking themselves – What if?” 

What if this path HAS taken me as far as it was meant to go?  And what if that’s a good thing?  What if it’s a perfectly natural evolution?

What if I stand at the birthing place of beautiful new opportunities, beautiful new worlds?  What if I let myself fantasize about what I would wish them to be?

What would I wish them to be?  How would I wish to pursue them?  What would I do to begin? What are the baby steps I can take to begin that today?

What is the cycle that is completed?  What is the world that should be allowed to fall away?  What is the beautiful new world to be born from it?  How do I begin to create that world, for myself and those I love − for the highest and best of all − today?

Bright blessings, courage, hope and beautiful dreams! 

Quote for the Day: The first step towards getting somewhere is to decide that you are not going to stay where you are.  ~ Anon

Today’s Whether:  The return of the dreaded bongweasels; Trocadero souffle rampant.  Grease your geese. 

On This Date: Lotsa crummy stuff. Really. Don’t look, you’ll only get depressed. 

But!!:  1968 – Elvis’ Comeback Special airs nationwide on NBC.

 

4 Responses to “Tarot Card for the Day ~ December 3”

  1. Donna Allen Says:

    Great, great, great [groovy, groovy, groovy] pics!

    The word “courage” is somehow related to the French word “coeur”, which means “heart”. These times in which we are living require great courage. The courage to stay hopeful and optimistic. The courage to let go of ways and beliefs that are no longer serving us. The courage to be loving and kind in the midst of the chaos. And so on and so on.

    I intend that I am peaceful, calm, hopeful and full of courage this day.

    Our motivational speaker this past week gave away a tee-shirt with the acronym GOYA printed on the front. He said it stood for “get off your attitude.” I wondered if he’d “cleaned it up” for the younger crowd. But in thinking about it further, the word “attitude” feel very helpful. That’s where it all begins…our thoughts and attitudes. Get those right and the ass just follows naturally, or sumfin’.

    The quote by Anon. is perfect: The first step toward getting somewhere is to decide that you are not going to stay where you are. (Come on, attitude. Move!)

    Your messages help me take those steps forward. THANK YOU !

    ~ ~ Blessings, Donna P.S. My students were given the opportunity to memorize and write out the words of Scott Peck you quoted: There is no such thing as a small act of kindness. Each act creates a ripple with no logical end.

    Well, I was very proud when I graded their tests last evening and most received the five extra credit points! 🙂

    P.P.S. Thanks for letting me ramble…

  2. shamanspath Says:

    Rambling is almost always better than rumbling.

    Blessings,

    N

  3. Donna Allen Says:

    Thanks! I’ll remember your words the next time someone rambles at me!

  4. shamanspath Says:

    Bravo!

    Or GrOOVY!

    Or something.

Leave a Reply

